About Us

Seeing Is Believing

The Eye Bank of BC was established in 1983 as a provincial referral centre. It is part of the Vancouver Coastal Health Authority. We acquire, process and distribute eye tissue around the province in order to perform corneal transplants and scleral grafts. Donated tissue that is not suitable for transplant can be used for medical research.

We help give the gift of sight.

The success of the Eye Bank is reliant on the cooperation of health care professionals, the gift of eye donation given by the donors, and the donor families who provide consent for eye donation.

The Eye Bank is open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

We recognize that our place of work lies on the traditional homelands of the First Nation Communities of Musqueam, Squamish, and Tseil-Watuth.

Our Team

Medical Director
Sonia Yeung, M.D.

Deputy Medical Director
Simon Holland, M.B.

Advisory Board

VGH Head of Ophthalmology
Wai Ching Lam, M.D.

Eye Bank Staff

Michael Reyes

Chief Medical Technologist
Ivan Yan

Donor Development Liaison
Shannon Leonard

Quality Assurance Coordinators
May Chan, Julie Frketich

Staff Trainer
Brian Ha

Transplant Coordinators
Rick Farrer
Chris Frketich
Teresa Haydamack
Melissa Tautscher
Shannon McQueen

Make a contribution today